Call to action on the Draft Dun Laoghaire Rathdown county Development PlAN

First we remind you that last year the High Court quashed planning permission awarded by An Bord Pleanala for the former Western Marine site at Bullock Harbour.  The effect of this is that An Bord Pleanala must now make a new decision on the Western Marine /Bartra site.  This is awaited. 

However in order to protect Bullock Harbour in any future proposals under the forthcoming 2022-2028 County Development Plan (CDP) the committee of Bullock Harbour Preservation Assocation has been active this year in seeking two changes to the draft CDP.  The first change would add a limitation to the W Zoning to omit any form of residential use on the former Western Marine site.  The second change would re-word the current Bullock strategic local objective (now SLO28 in the draft plan) to give greater emphasis to the “special nature of the area” and to remove the assumption of residential development.


We have briefed Dun Laoghaire Rathdown councillors on the issues around Bullock Harbour and the adjacent area, including the extreme flooding to which Bullock is vulnerable.  We continue to enjoy cross party support for the Bullock campaign and for these changes to the County Development Plan.  Six motions have been put by councillors from various parties endeavouring to make these changes.  These motions come up for debate at special Council meetings taking place this week and next and are listed below.


These are just six motions of the very many development plan motions that councillors will be voting on in coming days (we believe on Thursday 14 October 2021 but possibly into next week) and they could easily be overlooked.  Please therefore write to your local councillors asking them to vote for these motions, along the lines of “Please vote for County Development Plan motions 146, 147, 153, 180 181 and 182 on Bullock Harbour to remove residential use from Bullock’s zoning, and to re-word draft SLO28 to give greater emphasis to the “special nature of the area” and remove the assumption of residential development”. A short email is best.  You can find the email addresses of your DLR councillors at the end of this post.

We have only just been notified of the motions and their reference numbers and therefore ask our supporters to write immediately.

We thank all the supporters of Bullock Harbour.

Draft CDP motions referring to Bullock – October 2021

146. Councillor L. Hall That this Planning Authority pursuant to Section 12 (6) of the Planning and Development Act 2000 (as amended) removes “Residential Development” from the list of developments “Open to Consideration” for W zoning at Bullock Harbour, where there is demonstrable evidence of overtopping.
147. Councillor L. Hall That this Planning Authority pursuant to Section 12 (6) of the Planning and Development Act 2000 (as amended) ensures that any W development at Bullock Harbour shall have regard to the special nature of the area in terms of the height, scale, architecture and density of built form and shall comprise commercial marine-based activity and public water-based recreational uses, and shall consider flood risk. 

153. Councillor M. Halpin That this Planning Authority pursuant to Section 12 (6) of the Planning and Development Act 2000 (as amended) resolves to amend the Draft Development Plan as follows – To amend page 304, to include a new line in table 13.1.1- J – To protect and improve coastal amenities To amend page 310 to include a new table 13.1.20 ZONING OBJECTIVE ‘J’ “To improve coastal amenities” Permitted in Principle Open Space, Recreational Facility*/Sports Club, Marine Leisure facility, community facility Open for Consideration Cultural Use, Public Services. *Recreational use of the coast; Recreational buildings including restaurant use To amend Map 4 to include a new colour for Objective J in the Key To amend Map 4 where the green colour for Bulloch Harbour is replaced by the new colour denoting Objective J.
180. Councillor J. Moylan That this Planning Authority pursuant to Section 12 (6) of the Planning and Development Act 2000 (as amended) resolves to amend the Draft Development Plan as follows – SLO 28 [Bullock Harbour] to be amended to read that ‘any development shall have regard to the special nature of the area in terms of the height, scale, architecture and density of built form and shall comprise commercial marine-based activity and public water-based recreational uses, and shall only comprise uses that are compatible with the flooding to which the site is subject and that Bullock harbour and its environs will be offered the same level of protection as its neighbouring harbour, Sandycove harbour in terms of any potential future residential development application that may be ‘open for consideration’ under W zoning.’ 
181. Councillors C. Smyth, J. O’Connell, and D. O’Callaghan That this Planning Authority pursuant to Section 12 (6) of the Planning and Development Act 2000 (as amended) resolves to amend the Draft Development Plan as follows – Amend the SLO number 28 for Bullock Harbour to remove the following text “residential”. 
182. Councillor M. Halpin That this Planning Authority pursuant to Section 12 (6) of the Planning and Development Act 2000 (as amended) resolves to amend the Draft Development Plan as follows – To amend page 321 SLO 28 to read as follows – Bullock Harbour – Any development shall have regard to the special nature of the area in terms of the height, scale, architecture and density of built form and shall comprise commercial marine-based activity and public water-based recreational uses, and shall only comprise 34 uses that are compatible with the flooding (including wave over-topping) to which the site is subject”.

DUN LAOGHAIRE RATHDOWN COUNTY COUNCILLORS

Dun Laoghaire Area
Mary Fayne    mfayne@cllr.dlrcoco.ie    Fine Gael     
Lorraine Hall    lhall@cllr.dlrcoco.ie    Fine Gael 
Melissa Halpin    mhalpin@cllr.dlrcoco.ie    Solidarity – People before Profit
Tom Kivlehan    tkivlehan@cllr.dlrcoco.ie    Green Party
Justin Moylan   jmoylan@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fianna Fáil
Juliet O’Connell    joconnell@cllr.dlrcoco.ie    Labour
Dave Quinn    dquinn@cllr.dlrcoco.ie      Social Democrats

Blackrock Area
Marie Baker    mbaker@cllr.dlrcoco.ie    Fine Gael
Maurice Dockrell    mdockrell@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fine Gael
Martha Fanning     mfanning@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Labour
Kate Feeney    kfeeney@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fianna Fáil
Mary Hanafin   mhanafin@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fianna Fáil
Séafra Ó Faoláin    sofaolain@cllr.dlrcoco.ie    Green Party

Killiney-Shankill Area
Michael Clark  mclark@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Independent
Jim Gildea    jgildea@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fine Gael
Hugh Lewis    hlewis@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Solidarity – People before Profit
Frank McNamara    fmcnamara@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fine Gael
Denis O’Callaghan    denisoc@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Labour
Una Power    unapower@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Green Party
Carrie Smyth    carriesmyth@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Labour

Stillorgan Area
Deirdre Donnelly    ddonnelly@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Independent
Eva-Elizabeth Dowling    edowling@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Green Party
John Kennedy    jkennedy@cllr.dlrcoco.i        Fine Gael
Maeve O’Connell    moconnell@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fine Gael
Barry Saul    bsaul@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fine Gael
Dónal Smith    dsmith@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fianna Fáil

Dundrum Area
Shay Brennan    sbrennan@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fianna Fáil
Anne Colgan    acolgan@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Independent
Daniel Dunne    ddunne@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Green Party
Anna Grainger    agrainger@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fine Gael
Sean McLoughlin    smcloughlin@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Independent
Peter O’Brien    pobrien@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Labour
Jim O’Leary    joleary@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fine Gael

Glencullen Area
Kazi Ahmed     kahmed@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fine Gael
Emma Blain    eblain@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fine Gael
Michael Fleming    mfleming@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Independent
Patricia Kinsella     pkinsella@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Independent
Lettie McCarthy    lmccarthy@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Labour
Tom Murphy    tmurphy@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Fianna Fáil
Oisín O’Connor    ooconnor@cllr.dlrcoco.ie        Green Party

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.